Gujarat Titans vs Mumbai Indians, 51st Match prediction and preview

Preview by Prakhar:

The future of Mumbai Indians is very clear. To qualify for the playoffs, win all five remaining games. But Mahera Jayawalden didn't look too far. It's clear that the five champions haven't even found an official or set template, even if they won the last game in which both batting and bowling were valid. The first threat to their chances of qualifying came from notification-toppers Gujarat Titans.

The Mumbai Indians head coach has admitted that Hardik Pandya's side have shown a tendency to miss the season, even after snapping a five-game winning streak in the last game. "We've seen them lose their individual brilliance, winning at least three or four games where Miller, Tewatiya and Rashid finish the game. That's what we need this season, without that spark . We're used to having it."

It's an honest confession for a team that was underperforming and wanted to recover the conceded goal, but unfortunately the success of the previous game at DY Patil Stadium four days ago has given no incentive to continue. . But luckily for them, Gujarat's momentum, if not a spark, took a slight hit.

When: Friday, May 6, 2022, 7:30 PM IST

Where: Gujarat Titans vs Mumbai Indians, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

What to expect: Despite the unbearable weather in Mumbai, it is still one of the coolest places in the country, with temperatures expected to be around 30 degrees Celsius during the race. Humidity levels are also relatively low, but at 60% in testing

Head to head: The two teams have never played against each other.

Team Watch

Mumbai Indians

Tactics & Matchups:  Ishan Kishan was one of the few batsmen to successfully counter Rashid Khan. With 51 balls, the southpaw recorded 64 runs, but Reggie couldn't dismiss him in the IPL. Is there a case for Kishan to go back to Intermediate?

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Dewald Brevis/Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Hrithik Shokeen, Daniel Sams, Jasprit Bumrah, Kumar Kartikeya, Riley Meredith

Gujarat Titans:

Tactics & Matchups:  If Rohit Sharma survives this long, the middle man might see some interesting fights. While the opener was a huge success against Lockie Ferguson, Rashid Khan already had his measure, sacking him twice in 24 balls.

Probable XI: Shubhman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Sai Sudarshan, Hardik Pandya, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Alzarri Joseph, Pradeep Sangwan/Yash Dayal, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami

Did you know?

--Rashid has been the main wicketkeeper in the IPL midfield (7-15) since his debut with 71 wickets, but this year he has only used 3 wickets at this stage. He is near death in six of his nine wickets at IPL 2022. As a result, the GT has the worst spin in the middle of this IPL.

- Sanju Samson is the only one to run more than Suryakumar Yadav in the IPL since 2019.

What they said:

One of our highlights this season has been the new players and how they raised their hands. I have a lot to do, but I'm excited. - Mumbai Indians head coach Mahra Jayawarden

"We played really well in this game. We have to know how to set goals as needed (late game). It's part of the learning curve, but it's all about learning to get out of your comfort zone... We always talk about getting better when we win, we talk about what went wrong (today) and looking better in future games. - Gujarat Titans captain Hardik Pandya, after losing to PBKS


Gujarat Titans Squad: Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Hardik Pandya(c), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Pradeep Sangwan, Lockie Ferguson, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Shami, Matthew Wade, Varun Aaron, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Abhinav Manohar, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Darshan Nalkande, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Dominic Drakes, Yash Dayal, Noor Ahmad

Mumbai Indians Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Daniel Sams, Hrithik Shokeen, Kumar Kartikeya, Riley Meredith, Jasprit Bumrah, Murugan Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Fabian Allen, Basil Thampi, Anmolpreet Singh, Dewald Brevis, Rahul Buddhi, Tristan Stubbs, Arjun Tendulkar, Aryan Juyal, Mayank Markande, Ramandeep Singh, Sanjay Yadav

You May Also Like!